The ‘Whipping Thru Life’ Blog Name

First of all…phew!! After about a month and a half of considering a plethora of various blog names, because I wanted to make sure that it was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT, Whipping Thru Life is what I found to be the most fitting. It touches on all of the various areas that I wanted, referencing the most obvious first, cooking in the kitchen. I, by no means, am a good cook; I wouldn’t even consider myself a cook in the most general sense of the word! Before this change in lifestyle occurred, I was perfectly content with pizza rolls, macaroni and cheese, and chicken nuggets for dinner on a daily basis-never getting tired of any of them. My thought process was, "Why would I cook a big, fancy, and/or elaborate meal just for myself, when I am completely satisfied and okay eating these things?!" This has always been my mentality all through college and the first year and a half of living on my own and I was perfectly content with that. It was simple, quick, and easy to shop for and make dinner, the best option when I’m hungry! 🙂 Well, when the summer of 2012 arrived and I couldn’t get my shorts to pull up all the way over my legs, let alone button and zip them, I knew this was a problem, and so began my adventure of ‘whipping’ things up in the kitchen. I have to say I’ve come a long way from where I was, but I know that I have a lot more to learn when it comes to cooking and eating healthy, but that is all in good time!

The next reason why I chose and love this blog name, you guessed it from the fact that my shorts didn’t fit from above, is that it references my choice to change my sedimentary routine to one that is ‘whipping’ my boot-ay and the rest of my body into shape one workout at a time. I started out by joining a local gym. I’ve always known that my best bet to stay committed to workouts is by participating in group fitness classes. If I know that I am paying for these classes and that there will be an instructor telling me exactly what to do, I will go. This gym is great too, because you are assigned a practitioner where you turn in your workout logs and food logs. (This may seem extreme to some, but the accountability factor is HUGE for me). It is in my DNA that I can’t let people down, so I knew that by choosing this gym, I would be committed to attending regularly, as well as to start eating healthier on a regular basis, since I had to report in on all of it. I also know that I tend to be intimidated by workout equipment and fellow gym goers, who actually know what they are doing, at most gyms, so this gym choice was a no-brainer as far as my preferences go. This constant workout routine was and has been difficult at times to stick to, since I have never really had to work out before. I was always active in one way or another growing up, mainly because I played sports from kindergarten through senior year of high school; and then focusing on my dance team in college. Between the actual function of just participating in the sports and practice, there was never a need for me to workout, or even consider it…until now. I have really come to love and look forward to my workouts (with the occasional feeling of dread here and there) and have finally found what so many people have been telling me for years, that it really changes your mood, health, body, eating habits, etc. if you just stick with it!

The last (and most important) reason why this blog name was the winner is that it portrays, what I consider to be, my crazy life. With most weekends booked with some sort of activity, it feels that life is ‘whipping’ right on by and I am always looking forward to the next great weekend plan. Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining about these memorable days, weekends, or vacations; but I do need to learn to live in the moment and enjoy what I am doing and participating in, at that very moment, on that very day. Currently, I look forward to a specific day, and rush right to it (not enjoying the x number of days that have just passed), and as soon as it arrives, I start thinking about the next thing on my calendar, and so the cycle continues. I think that this blog will help me appreciate each moment I have and slow down a bit as I will be sharing life events on this blog, allowing me to reflect on my many blessings. I think this blog title choice is also important to me because it gives a sense of my light-hearted, fun, and outgoing personality. I never take myself too seriously and am always laughing or smiling. I want this blog to be something fun for others to read and something they look forward to. If I can help uplift someone’s spirits after a bad day and make them smile, then that’s all I can ask for. And, if I inspire a few of you along the way, then that would just be amazing! I’m happy you’re here, and would love for you to join me!

 

Quote

Leave a Reply

