Weekend/Super Bowl Recap and #MIMM

Happy #MIMM!  I hope each of you had an amazing and marvelous weekend!  I also hope that you were able to enjoy the Super Bowl last night!

Marvelous is….getting to know fellow bloggers more and more! I went to bed nice and early on Friday night, Shannon and I from Skinny Sometimes bonded over this via twitter. 🙂  I am just loving meeting great people and bloggers, but still have a looooooooong way to go.

Marvelous was….my weekend!  It was really mellow and really enjoyed it!  Saturday morning I woke up feeling a bit under the weather, I’m pretty sure I jinxed myself last week.  Nevertheless, I had plans to go and visit my boyfriend, Tim, for the weekend since he lives about an hour away.  He, too, is feeling sick (more so than me) so we didn’t do a whole lot.  We lounged all day on Saturday and then met up with our friends, Jessica and her husband, Cameron, Saturday night to watch the Michigan vs. Indiana basketball game.  The game isn’t exactly how I hoped it would turn out, but we still have all of February to bounce back! 🙂  Sunday morning, Tim and I had brunch plans with Jessica and Cameron, and my friend Elisabeth and her boyfriend, Steve.  Jessica, Elisabeth, and I have been friends since 5th grade, so it’s always fun getting back together and catching up!  Especially, since that doesn’t happen very often. 🙂  After brunch, I headed back to my place so that Tim could rest and relax, and so I could get a head start on my week.

What wasn’t Marvelous…When I arrived back home, I stopped at couple of different stores picking up a few ingredients I needed for my meals this week.  I then stopped in at a nail place looking to have them take my acrylic nails off for good since I had already cut mine down.  (I always regret getting fake nails after about a month or so, and I hate waiting for them to grow out!  I ask myself why I even got them in the first place every time!)  Anyway, I walked into the nail salon around noon and they said they were really busy and to come back around 2:30pm-ya that didn’t work for me…PLUS I’m super impatient, PLUS I didn’t want to have to go into the mall to try a different location.  So, I set off to Sally’s to purchase pure acetone and to take my nails off myself.  The whole bottle was only $2-$3, so I was thinking that I was saving myself money doing it this way!  I arrived back at my apartment, set up a bunch of scrap papers and paper towels on the dining room table for extra precautions.  Turns out that didn’t matter, because the minute I poured some of the acetone into the bowl, it dripped down the side of the jar.  I quickly set it down to make sure nothing dripped anywhere or was leaking through to find that I set the bottle down on the bare table!!  Not enough scrap papers and paper towels in the world could have helped me.  Oh, did I mention that this is my roommate’s dining room table?!  Yep!  Worst roommate EVER award goes to this girl, right here. 😦  Ugh!  Talk about the absolute dumbest thing I could have done.  I, of course, offered to purchase her a new table and/or pay for it to be fixed.  She was super understanding and a technician from the store is coming in the next week to take a look at it.  Here I was, excited for saving money and doing this on my own for only a few bucks and now it turned into an even much larger purchase because I am impatient and because I am too lazy to go to a different nail salon.

After THAT fiasco, I attended a late evening church service, came back home to watch the Super Bowl commercials, and eat cereal for dinner (still wasn’t feeling well).  Since I was, and still am under the weather-AND since I completed my five days of workouts during the week, I took Saturday and Sunday off from workouts.  Back to the grind today, though! 🙂

What did you think of the game?  The commercials?  Beyoncé’s half-time performance?  The blackout?

My thoughts:

Game – Eh, I don’t care for either team, it only got interesting when the lights went out (See below)

Marvelous Commercials – There were definitely some winners, my favorites are as follows…

Jeep Saluting Veterans

Jeep Saluting Farmers

Budweiser, Clydesdale, and Fleetwood Mac

Taco Bell-Retirement Home Jailbreak

Amy Poehler at Best Buy

M&M “It hurts, but I kinda like it”

Beyoncé’s Half-Time Performance – Everyone I saw on twitter and Facebook loved it.  I think my roommate and I were the only ones who didn’t think it was anything special and were unimpressed.  I loved when Kelly Rowland and Michelle Williams joined Beyoncé on stage for a mini Destiny’s Child reunion, however did anyone else think it was awkward when Beyoncé basically dismissed them, after a few songs so that she could finish the song/montage on her own??

The Blackout – At first, I didn’t realize what happened.  I thought something was wrong with my t.v.  Then I thought, technical difficulties?  Until I realized, nope…a 34 minute blackout!  Wow!!  I haven’t heard or read anything on the reason other than the equipment detected a surge and did it’s job in shutting down, temporarily.  Anyone know of anything more?

Am I missing any others?  Which commercials did you find Marvelous that stood out to you?  I must admit, I fell asleep quickly after the lights came back on and the game resumed.

Have a Marvelous Monday and week!! xoxo

4 thoughts on “Weekend/Super Bowl Recap and #MIMM

Leave a Reply

