Mock Rockin’ Monday

Hi all!!  It’s a crazy week already, and it is only Tuesday!!  Let’s jump right into yesterday morning!

Breakfast

My breakfast yesterday was just plain awesome!  I hadn’t had Van’s Power Grain Waffles in a while and, let me just tell you, they hit the spot!  Add some creamy peanut butter, sliced bananas, and cinnamon and you have fabulous, protein packed, on-the-go breakfast!

waffles

Workout

Hooray for new workouts!  I will tell you that variation is KEY for me when it comes to fitness.  If all of my workouts stayed the same I would not stick with them.  Which is also why I’ve changed it up, recently, and started the kickboxing classes…I was getting pretty bored with my regular routines.  Anyway, yesterday was super sweaty and super awesome!  Here’s what it looked like:

  • 10 reverse box lunges (each leg) with 15 lb weights in each hand (The box just gives your body and lunges more range of motion and it was only a three incher)
  • 10 bicep curls into an overhead press with 15 lb weights
  • 10 hanging back extensions
  • 10 rowers using 55 lb resistance
  • 5 box jumps (This one was brand-spankin’ new to me and a bit scary, but I really was getting into it!)

Repeat the circuit 3 times through=Sweaty Mess Central!!

I then completed 20 rope slams and 10 side medicine ball slams, against the wall, alternating each of those as quickly as possible for 5 minutes.

Lastly, I worked on my washboard abs…ya right, but I’m hoping someday, though! 😉 I did two quick 30 second isolated holds <—earthquakin’ it up!!  Then, 40 straight leg v-sit ups (20 each leg).

Mock Rock 2013

After work, I met up with Tim and some of my friends to grab dinner at Buffalo Wild Wings.  Afterwards, we headed over to the University of Michigan Student-Athlete Mock Rock.  I’ve gone the past two years and it is always fun to watch!  The student athletes put a lot of time into choreographing and practicing routines to different songs.  Most of them are more comical than anything, but then there are some that highlight some hidden talents that the student athletes may have like singing and dancing.  My favorite, and this years winner was Men’s Rowing (bottom right photo).  They did a montage of The Lion King songs, and between the costumes and performance, they absolutely deserved to win!!  Men’s Hockey (top right photo) is just an example of how hilarious these things can get.  They performed a rendition of  ‘Cotton-Eyed Joe’ complete with fishnet shirts and metallic spandex, seriously hysterical!  For more photos, and better quality, you can check them out here!

Each year, Mock Rock raises funds to give back to local organizations, through ticket sales and holding sponsored nights at local restaurants where proceeds will be donated.  This year, they contributed to the Family and Hope Fund through C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital and to the academy the emcee, Jalen Rose, founded.  The Jalen Rose Leadership Academy in Detroi

mockrock

I’m looking forward to  my relaxing evening and to a Michigan win against ‘that team in Ohio tonight!’ Go Blue!!!

Leave a Reply

