Hail to the Victors & #WIAW

Can I get a Go Blue?!  Awesome, awesome win last night against ‘that team in Ohio!’  I can’t lie, though…I fell asleep at the beginning of the second half.  This under the weather thing is cramping my style and my social life!  I did, however, hear all about the OT and the blocked shot by Tim Hardaway Jr. to seal the ‘W’ for Michigan.  Such a great way to start my hump day!!!

Welcome back to another edition of #WIAW brought to you by Jenn at Peas & Crayons!  Jenn is bringing back Love your Veggies Month and this is definitely something I could get into, as I tend to neglect my veggies!  It just so happens, though, that my dinner last night was veggie PACKED and I can’t wait to share it with you!

Last night after work, I made a game time decision to head over to the kickboxing club to get my sweat on.  When I’m not feeling so hot, I’m of the mindset that if I workout when I am sick, I will sweat out all of the germs and whatever nasty infection has consumed me.  I have no idea if this is true, but I like to think that way.  I do know, however, that sometimes your body just needs R-E-S-T! I’m not sure if that’s the direction I’m headed or not…we will see!  As usual, kickboxing delivered!  I was sweating and punching & punching and sweating, and it felt gooooood!  I was/am a little sore from Monday’s workout (and now Tuesday’s), so kickboxing proved tougher than normal.  (Boy am I sore today!) Yet, I still loved every minute of it.   After the workout, I quickly stopped at the store to purchase some noodles and yellow pepper for dinner.  I originally wanted to have breakfast for dinner, more importantly pancakes to celebrate National Pancake Day, yesterday…but I wasn’t craving them come dinner time.

When I arrived home, it was time for the veggie packed good stuff, or what I like to call Greek Pasta! (Adapted from Cooking Light)  The recipe is almost identical, except I cut it in half, added some yellow peppers, and eyeballed a lot of it.  I would love to add chicken to it, next time!

Greek Pasta

Ingredients

  • 4 oz of Whole Wheat Farfalle (Bow Tie) Pasta
  • 4 teaspoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2 cups Fresh Spinach
  • 1 cup Grape Tomatoes-Cut into Halves
  • 1 medium Yellow Pepper-Cut into medium chunks
  • 1 medium-large Onion (Red or Yellow)
  • 1/4- 1/2 cup Fat Free Feta Cheese
  • 1/4 cup Shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano
  • 1 1/2-2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon oregano

Directions

  1. Boil 2 cups, or 4 oz dry, of pasta.
  2. In a separate pan, saute onion, oregano, and garlic  in 1-2 tsp of extra virgin olive oil.
  3. Add tomatoes, yellow peppers, and vinegar.
  4. Add spinach.
  5. Drain and add pasta.
  6. Mix and combine thoroughly.  Adding in 1-2 tsp of extra virgin olive oil.
  7. Sprinkle with feta cheese and shaved parmigiano-reggiano to your liking!

(Side note:  I think it would be great to add olives into this recipe, too.  I just personally don’t care for them.  But, it’s something that may interest you that you didn’t think about!)

I'm working on better photo quality!! :)
I’m working on better photo quality!! 🙂

This morning was lacking the veggies, but loving the fruits!  I enjoyed an english muffin with raspberry jam (bring on those seeds! 🙂 ), some strawberries, a clementine, and some OJ with my beloved Emergen-C, Immune +.

PURE deliciousness!
PURE deliciousness!

Lunch was a frozen meal of Healthy Choice…. I have been trying to move away from the pre-packaged foods, but they make it SO, SO easy for me at lunch time that it is hard to resist buying a few for my work weeks.  Hoping to improve as the year continues!

lunch

After work, my friend planned a get together for all of her friends/co-workers at a pub and bowling alley to celebrate her birthday!  It was a really great time!

Happy Birthday, Terri!
Happy Birthday, Terri!

She and I have been so busy at work, we don’t see each other that often anymore.  I ended up staying pretty late and enjoying a beverage or two, so no workouts for me.

It's Kelly sized! <3
It’s Kelly sized! ❤

I think my body needed a rest and re-fuel day.  It’s always important to  listen to your body and this is definitely something I am still learning about and working on, is to listen to my BODY, not my head when it comes to working out.

One thought on “Hail to the Victors & #WIAW

Leave a Reply

