Belated Valentine’s Day

Happy Belated Valentine’s Day!!

Yes, I am one of many that is sucked into the ‘Hallmark’ holiday, however this was mine and Tim’s first Valentine’s Day together, so I’d say it was a little extra special!

Before I get into Valentine’s Day talk, I wanted to share that my #WIAW from last week made its way onto the What I WISH I Ate Wednesday Roundup on Healthy Way To Cook.  This is the first time that my blog has been given a shoutout and I was so excited I couldn’t stop smiling!! Thanks to Nicole Fallon for including me! 🙂

Alright, back to cupid…For breakfast, I tried to be festive with my breakfast yesterday morning and made a pink smoothie.  This is a basic go-to smoothie recipe for me, but for the holiday, we will call it the Valentine’s Smoothie!  Ok? Great!

Valentine’s Smoothie

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 3 oz of fresh or frozen strawberries
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 tbs chia seeds
  • 1 container greek yogurt (I used Oikos Vanilla)
  • 3/4 cup unsweetend almond milk (regular milk will work, too)

Blend and enjoy!!

vdaysmoothie

Since it was our first Valentine’s Day together, Tim had said that he had made dinner reservations.  When I arrived to my apartment for us to meet and head to dinner, I saw his car parked, but did not see him.  When I walked into my apartment, he had surprised me with a candlelit dinner, roses, and a present.  Apparently, he had asked my roommate for her to mail him her spare key so that he could get there early and make dinner.  Such a stinker! 🙂  He made an awesome shrimp fettucini alfredo, with a side of bread, oil, and herbs for dipping, and broccoli.  He made me the sweetest Valentine’s Day card and gave me a framed photo of us from Christmas along with SkinnyGirl wine.  He is awesome!!

vddaydinner

I made him a cute/cheesy gift from where else? Pinterest!  You just take a sharpie and a mug, draw whatever you wish, and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes!  It is now permanent and can be washed and scrubbed, and your design will not come off.  What did we do before Pinterest?!  I also got him tickets to go and see a Red Wings game since he has never been before, and we must introduce him to this amazing sport.  They aren’t playing that well this season, but hockey games are still an absolute blast to attend!

michigancups michiganquotecups

We then went to the 9:45pm (soooo late) showing of Safe Haven.  This is way past my bedtime, I wasn’t sure that I was going to be able to stay awayke!  But, I’ve been so excited to see this movie since every other commercial on t.v. is a preview for it, and I absolutely loved it!  I’m not a tough movie critic, though, so don’t blame me if you aren’t a fan.

Overall, it was an amazing day!!  Tim and I took the day off today and we are relaxing and spending time together.  We have an awesome weekend ahead, all ending with a small dinner on Sunday for my birthday.  Can’t wait to catch you all up on my weekend on Monday!  I hope you all have a fun weekend with some great plans!

3 thoughts on “Belated Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

