What I Ate Wednesday with an Asian Zing

Happy Hump Day!!  We’re almost to Friday, we can do it, just a few more days! 🙂

I hope everyone’s week is going well, mine has been packed full and very busy, but it has been great!  Let’s jump right into this edition of #WIAW!  We are still going green here this month with What I Ate Wednesday, but unfortunately, I haven’t been following that rule too closely lately…oops!  Hoping to get better by Saturday! 😉  My lunch today was definitely loving the GREENS, though, just take a gander!! Yumm!!

Greensalad
Spinach, broccoli, shredded carrots, grape tomatoes, and mushrooms! 🙂

Anyway, I want to share a couple of awesome recipes that I used to make an amazing Asian inspired dinner that I made last night!

I’m not a whiz in the kitchen and can’t make recipes up on my own, I’m hoping to be there one day, but for now, the credit for this delish dinner with an Asain Zing has to go to both Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers for her Orange Chicken and Taralynn from Undressed Skeleton for her Crab Rangoons.  I love everything that these two post, so be sure to spend some time perusing their sites!

I’m not going to lie, I was really nervous about making this dinner because I haven’t made anything like this before, aside from the veggie stir fry, and had NO clue what I was doing or what to expect.  To my surprise, this was beyond easy, and if you know me-for me to say that-it totally is!  The longest part was stuffing the won ton wrappers with the crab mix, just a little tedious and not fun when you’re cooking by yourself. 😦  Alright, enough of the pity party-let’s get to the good stuff!

I first began by combining 1/3 less fat cream cheese, paprika, garlic powder, water chestnuts, and crab meat together.  It took a minute to work the cream cheese, so I would suggest softening that up a bit, in the microwave before adding to the mix.  Also, the store only had two cans of crabmeat left when I was there, one was lump crabmeat and the other was pink crabmeat, so I purchased both kinds.  I would suggest purchasing lump crabmeat only, if at all possible.  It seems that it was more flavorful and less runny than the pink crabmeat.  Lastly, next time I think I will add celery to the recipe along with more water chestnuts.  I was missing the crunch that I personally enjoy in crab rangoons. Please note that this mixture photographs terribly!! :/

crabmix

Once everything is combined for the crab rangoons, now is the time to grab your won ton wraps.  Tip: You will find these in the produce/refrigerated section next to the water chestnuts, bean sprouts, mushrooms, etc.

wonton wrappers

Start stuffing and folding! Now, I’m not sure if I just can’t read (which is most likely the case, since I’m an amateur in the kitchen), but Taralynn made sure to specify to fold up the sides and not the corners, but that was not working for me.  I finally decided to fold up the corners and it worked! Do what works for you!

crabstuffing

As soon as those were folded, I combined the orange marmalade and lite Catalina dressing in a bowl.  I cut this recipe in half, since it is just me eating, so just be aware of that if you follow Julie’s recipe. 🙂  I made sure to taste it before I poured it onto my chicken to make sure it wasn’t too orange-y but wasn’t lacking, and my tip for this would be to marinate the chicken in this mixture overnight, as well as leaving some extra on the side to not put on the chicken to bake.  Once it is done baking, I would heat up the remaining mixture separately, then add it to your individual dish.

orangechicken

Here are my creations before the oven….

Before
Before…

And after!!

After!
After!

Ta-da!! Asian ZING!

Seriously, this has been one of my favorite meals/recipes I have tried in a while that I just couldn’t get enough of!  Thank goodness for leftovers! 😉  I hope you enjoy and let me know if you try it!  Did you make any modifications?

Happy ZING-ing! Xoxo

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday with an Asian Zing

Leave a Reply

