WIAW-Still Seeing GREEN!

In keeping with this month’s GREEN theme with WIAW and with the promise to myself to make green shakes/smoothies since they make me nervous…I made one.  I can’t say that it was a complete success, but I’m hoping for a comeback later this week, I’ll be sure to let you all know how it goes, but I’m hopeful that I’ll be successful the next time around.  Thanks to Jenn for the link-up at Peas & Crayons, and be sure to check out her blog along with her awesome recipes!  Can’t wait to try her newest Confetti Pasta Salad ASAP!!

Tim has been dying for a Shamrock Shake from McDonald’s and I reminded him how completely terrible they are for you.  I mean, have you seen the nutritional facts about them?? Check them out…beyond terrible!  It makes them completely un-appetizing to me.  I told him I’ve seen some recipes in this lovely blogosphere of mine, and I could make him one that was just as good!  Long story short, we weren’t fans, and it kind of ended up tasting like a garden smells, just way too leafy for us.  The good news?  Look how delicious it looks!  I’ll give myself a couple of points for presentation, but that is about it!

shamrock shake

Tim caved and bought himself a Shamrock Shake…gross!  But, I didn’t/couldn’t say anything since I didn’t deliver on a yummy substitute.  There’s still plenty of March left and I’m determined to make a good one!

Continuing on with this smoothie/shake talk…I recently re-tried a smoothie with spinach, pushing myself to get those greens in, and this time I didn’t taste it, SUCCESS!!  I was way excited and am ready to continue with adding spinach to my smoothies even more, now!!  Speaking of added nutrients, I also tried adding ground flaxseed to my smoothie for the first time…winner!  Between that, chia seeds, and spinach I’m going to have some even more nutrient packed meals on my hands-woop woop!!

Question of the Day:

What do you add to your smoothies or meals for more hidden nutrients?  Also, what else do you add ground flaxseed and chia seeds to, besides smoothies?  Do you have any shamrock shake substitute recipes to share?

I recently tried mashed cauliflower as a substitute for mashed potatoes.  They tasted identical! I couldn’t believe it!  The consistency was a little off, but that was the cook’s fault ;).  Hoping to make a better batch soon!

8 thoughts on “WIAW-Still Seeing GREEN!

  1. I’m a big fan of high quality ice cream, real milk and a dash of natural mint extract. It’s not green and there are no veggies but its 1/2 the 820+ calories without 2 types of corn syrup, unnecessary dyes and artificial ingredients. That’s a special treat I can get behind!

      1. I usually use Trader Joe’s protein powder and my smoothies are usually all over the place. Lately it’s been chocolate peanut butter cup (chocolate protein powder, spinach, ice, cocoa powder, PB2, milk, cottage cheese – strange but works and doesn’t taste at all!)

Leave a Reply

