Berry Spinach Smoothie

Love starting my week off with a #MIMM!  I missed out last week, and I was pretty sad about it, since I was trying out my spontaneous side in Atlanta.  Thanks to Katie for hosting this link-up at Healthy Diva Eats, and a quick birthday shout out to her!  I hope your birthday is as wonderful as you are, my dear!!

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the horrific tragedy that occurred late this afternoon, at the Boston Marathon.  There are truly no words to describe how my heart ached and stomach turned the rest of this afternoon and evening watching the footage and hearing the story develop.  My heart, thoughts, and prayers go out to all involved and affected by the explosions.  To the marathoners, spectators, families of those affected, volunteers, law enforcement officials, and all those that I may have missed, you are not alone and you have the rest of the country supporting and praying for each of you. ❤

On the brighter side of this #MIMM…

I had a fabulous Friday and Saturday with one of my best friends and former college roommate, Kyle!

IMG_4799

I was actually in her wedding back in September and was so happy and honored to be included in her special day.  🙂  Kyle arrived to my apartment around 7:30/8pm on Friday.  We freshened up from our long work days and headed out to a lively bar called Habana.  I had never been and have been meaning to go, so what better time?!  We were both pretty hungry, when we arrived, so Kyle ordered the Grilled Chicken Flatbread and I ordered the Chicken Confit Tacos…yumm!!

IMG_4796 IMG_4795IMG_4797

I also stayed festive in ordering a Margarita, however Kyle was a little more festive and adventurous ordering the Abejo Alamania which included Jameson whiskey and fresh squeezed orange juice.  You can check out all of the details on the food and drinks here! Habana had a great menu and a fun atmosphere, can’t wait to go back for some Salsa dancing on a Thursday. Ole!

It has been about two weeks since I’ve worked out and eaten healthy and today was the day to get back on track-and it was a doozy!  Getting back to healthy eating went pretty well, today, but the workout was B-R-U-T-A-L!! Seriously!! I need to remember how this felt the next time I want to take a hiatus from healthy-living!  There is really no point in taking a break.  This is not a temporary change, it is one that I will have to work towards every day, week, month, and year.  I have 24 years under my belt of relaxed eating habits and no fitness routine, and it will take a lot longer than one year to turn my life style change around permanently, but I know that I can do this and keep up with it. Just have to stay focused! 🙂

I got back on track, this morning, by starting out my day with a Berry Spinach Smoothie…check it out!

Berry Spinach Smoothie

IMG_2759Ingredients:

  • 2oz. raspberries
  • 2oz. blueberries
  • 2oz. strawberries
  • 2oz. blackberries
  • 1 large handful of spinach
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 container Dannon Light & Fit Vanilla Greek Yogurt
  • 1 cup Silk Unsweetened Almond Milk (Orange Juice would work too-I just ran out)
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax seed (optional)

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients and prepare to enjoy a deliciously nutritious smoothie for breakfast or any time of the day that berries and spinach call to you!

smoothie

I hope that you all have a wonderful evening and rest of your week!  Please continue to keep everyone affected by the Boston Marathon explosions in your prayers!!

❤ ❤ ❤

4 thoughts on “Berry Spinach Smoothie

  1. I enjoyed our time together very much. I am finally back on track from my “break” and it is crazy how much better I feel. It is like I didn’t even know how horrible I felt until I started eating right and working out again. Thank you for the motivation!

Leave a Reply

