Thankful and Thoughtful Thursday

I thought I wasn’t going to be able to chat with everyone tonight due to a brief power outage! Once that baby’s gone, you grow to appreciate it all so much more! Buuuut, not having power really isn’t something anyone should complain about given current events. Which actually leads into my post, today.

Due to these recent events, I’ve been feeling a bit introspective and reflective.  First, was the Boston Marathon bombing, then there was the Texas fertilizor plant explosion.  I also have made a friend within the past 5 months that has been battling cancer for the past six years, however it has recently returned full force. Because of these events and other smaller events here and there, it has really made me stop and think and appreciate my blessings, and health that I have been given to me in life by God.  I’ve always considered myself to be a grateful and appreciative person, however it has really hit a little harder, as of late.  Of course out of every event comes a lot of good and positivity, however it can still be hard to grasp all at once.

For me, turning to God and to prayer has helped deal with the sadness that has been occurring, but it is still really difficult to wrap my mind around these events.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am still continuing on with life and loving and appreciating each day and each moment I am given, I’ve just been more thankful for it all more frequently. Happy, Happy Kelly is still here!

I also came across a really great website with amazing books full of really inspiring quotes. For some reason, these aren’t your normal quotes you find online or in quote books, these ones really spoke to me for whatever reason.  Maybe it was because we used one of the books to send to my friend battling cancer to help her to encourage her to hold her head high.  The book is called ‘believe’ from live-inspired.com.  I hope she enjoyed the book as much as I did, and I hope it gives her the strength she needs to continue her fight and her journey.

I think the combination of these events (big and small) and hormones (maybe??), is the reason I have had some really intense workout moments in the past couple of months.  What I mean about intense workout moments, is that during my workout sessions, I am pushing myself so hard and I am so focused in the moment that I start to get emotional and tear up during a workout! (Yes, this is completely normal)  At least, that’s what I’m telling myself.

I don’t mean to be a Debbie downer, just wanted to share with and remind everyone to be thankful for everything you have and are given, no matter how insignificant it may seem! Overall, I have been using this as a learning and growing opportunity, to not dwell on all the sad moments, but instead to use them to find the good/love in every and any situation.

This was actually Live Inspired’s facebook status today…perfect!

Question of the Day:

Have you ever had an emotional moment like this during one of your workouts?  Or am I just a lone and strange ranger here?

Leave a Reply

