WIAW with Overnight Oats

Happy Hump Day!

It’s another beautiful day here in Michigan! I cannot get enough of this gorgeous sunshine and warmth each morning, and the fact that it is sticking around! I’m loving pretending that I live down south, lately. 🙂  Alright, let’s get to the good stuff, What I Ate Wednesday, brought to you by Jenn from Peas & Crayons!  Make sure you go and check out her blog! She shares lots of great recipes and is hilarious, I love reading her blog each day just to get in a giggle…or five. 🙂

I made an awesome batch of Honey Banana Crunch Overnight Oats Monday night to enjoy Tuesday morning and I just have to share it with you all!  I can’t hold out on you when it comes to delicious eats, even though I ate this yesterday!

First of all, let’s start with a quick tutorial…

How to make Overnight Oats

Basic Ingredients

  • Oats (Old Fashioned Rolled or Steel Cut)
  • Greek Yogurt (Plain, Vanilla, Any Flavor)
  • Milk (Almond, Soy, Regular, etc.)
  • Chia Seeds (This is a must to absorb the milk)
  • *Optional-Sweetener (Honey, Brown Sugar, Truvia, etc.)
  • *Optional-Toppings (Nuts, Granola, Peanut Butter, Nut Butter, Fruit, Fruit Preserves, etc.)

Basic Directions

  1. Combine Oats, Greek Yogurt, Milk, and Chia Seeds.  If you choose to add sweetener (especially if you used plain greek yogurt), now is the time to add it.
  2. Stir until well mixed.
  3. Cover and place in the refrigerator.
  4. The next morning, add a splash of milk (depending on how thick you like your oats) and stir well.
  5. Add your toppings

That’s it, easy peasy! Now let’s add some flavor!!

Honey Banana Crunch Overnight Oats

Ingredients

  • 1/3 c. old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/3 c. Greek vanilla yogurt
  • 1/3 c. vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/2 banana mashed/cut up
  • 1/2 tbsp. honey, or less
  • 1 tbsp. peanut butter
  • 1 sprinkle of granola

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients, save peanut butter and granola, and mix well.
  2. Cover and sit in refrigerator overnight
  3. Next morning, add a splash of milk, peanut butter, and granola

IMG_2846


I included the granola at the last-minute, and it was an awesome crunchy addition to the delicious chewy oats! Not only was this a great breakfast, it lasted well into lunch…I actually ate my lunch around 2pm, that is how filling it is! Enjoy and get creative!

Like I mentioned, there are basics to overnight oats, and the rest is completely up to your taste buds and imagination.  I’ll be sure to share more overnight oat recipes as mornings become warmer and this cool breakfast treat makes its appearance more often!

Question of the Day:

What are your favorite flavors of Overnight Oats? Would love to hear your creative recipes. 🙂

8 thoughts on “WIAW with Overnight Oats

    1. Once I discovered them, I was hooked! But have especially been loving them now that we have warm weather. 🙂 The crunch was a great addition, highly recommend! Have a great day!

  1. I am a total oats girl, but I have never tried overnight oats! I think I’m just afraid of messing them up and not getting my usual satisfaction! I am definitely going to try them soon, though! My favorite flavor of regular oats is cocoa banana!

    1. Lol, I was totally afraid of messing them up, too! I finally just decided to take the jump and eyeball it, and it turned out great! Cocoa banana sounds awesome! I bet theres a great overnight oats option for that too. Good luck and let me know how they turn out for you. 🙂

  2. Oh I could go for days on this. I’ve done one in an old nutella jar, that’s the sweetest one. I also like a tropical jar with frozen pineapple or mango and coconut. Maybe berries with frozen cherry-berry mix, sometimes jam, etc. 🙂 Although, PB is always a classic.

Leave a Reply

