WIAW-Literally

Since I have started this blog and joining in on the WIAW link-up party, I have never done a complete day of eats.  Shame on me, I am such a rule breaker!  Thank you to Jenn from Peas & Crayons for hosting!!  I am excited for next month’s theme of sensible snacking…looking forward to starting that next week!

Here it goes!

8am-Breakfast

I recently came across the recipe for Blueberry & Lemon Overnight Oats on Slim Pickin’s Kitchen and have been obsessed with them ever since! I love Amber’s blog, it has tons of great recipes that focus on healthy ingredients and can always count on finding a good idea there when I am stuck.  Be sure to check her out! The blueberry yogurt and the lemon combination is so refreshing to eat on some of these hot spring/summer mornings, I am sure you will love it!  Now, her recipe is for four servings, so I just made sure to divide everything by four/eyeball it.  I would note, that you don’t mix the yogurt with these overnight oats like most recipes.  This is just layered on top of the oat mixture.  Also, if you like lemon, be sure to give your oats a little extra lovin’ on the zest and/or juice.  I have recently become a lemon freak and go to town on both. 😉

blueberrylemonoats2
Close up of the layers
blueberrylemonoats
A close up of the eats!

Speaking of chia seeds, because of course no overnight oats recipe is complete without them…I had a revelation the other day.  Chia Pets, I am hoping you remember what those are, ‘Ch-ch-ch chia!’ are made from these chia seeds that we love so much!  Maybe this isn’t new news to you, or news at all, but I was so shocked when I figured this out. Mind. Blown.  I googled it, just to be sure, and there it was, crazy!  So there is your fun fact for the day.

10am-Morning Snack

I enjoyed a small portion of the Honey Mesquite Almonds I received in my Nature Box this month!  I hadn’t opened these yet, and am so glad that I did.  I loved the smokey and sweet flavors mixed together in a healthy almond snack!  There are quite a few different companies out there that offer this type of service, but basically each month, Nature Box sends out five full packages of snacks for subscribers to try and enjoy!  I received a three-month subscription to Nature Box as a gift and am loving it, so far.  I will be sure to share how the other snacks are, as I try them. 🙂

almonds

12:30pm-Lunch

Of course, as I am back on my road to healthy eating and working out consistently, I had a lunch meeting with some co-workers at Olive Garden, today.  (Booooo!) I did my best to review the menu online before we left so that I was well versed on the appropriate options for the amount of calories.  I ordered from their Lighter Fare Menu and got the lunch portion of Capellini Pomodoro with grilled chicken for some extra protein, and only ate half of it. I had a serving of their delicious salad and some breadsticks, because you can’t turn those down.  I’m pretty sure I should have stayed away from those. 😉

olivegarden

7:30pm-Dinner

Lunch really kept me full the rest of the evening, so I kept it simple and light with some veggies and dip.  Plus my veggies were soon to be too old, so they had to be consumed! Yumm!

veggies

I hope you had a fabulous Wednesday with some great eats!!

5 thoughts on “WIAW-Literally

Leave a Reply

