One Year Anniversary x 2

This week marks my one year anniversary of starting this new journey of healthy living.  I still have a long way to go, but it is a learning experience each day.  I am not perfect and have had a lot of slip ups, both in food and fitness.  Each day, I have to remind myself that there is no destination, this is a change in lifestyle and I like to think that I get something out of it as the days pass, even when I take couple of steps backward. The knowledge I have gained with this change has been incredible and am I excited to see where it takes me from here, heck, I had no clue that I would find all of you inspiring healthy living blogs and want to start my own.  Congratulations to me! 😀 End bragging.

The other anniversary was that Tim and I, recently, celebrated our anniversary.  It is our one year ‘anniversary’ in that we don’t have an exact date that we started dating about a year ago, because it just kind of evolved from going on dates to hanging out all of the time, and somewhere in between there, we became a couple!  I say it was sometime in April-ish, but seriously have no clue, it just sounded good to me, Tim thinks May-ish…who knows!  We then decided to just use the date of the day we met, which was May 19, 2010.  (So, we technically celebrated knowing each other for three years and being together for one).  On top of all of this mad confusion, I was a complete moron and forgot about it. Womp, womp. So, that morning Tim gives me a beautiful bouquet of flowers and a card, and I had nada! What is wrong with me? Seriously, I am the world’s worst girlfriend.  Of course, Tim being the understanding guy that he is didn’t mind, so he said, and we later went out and celebrated at The Melting Pot.  Holy whoa! Have you ever been there?! Tim nor I have ever been, but had heard many great things about it. Well, it totally lived up to its hype, and I would totally recommend trying it at least once.  Disclaimer: It can be expensive if you go for the ‘4-Course Experience,’ however if you are celebrating a special occasion, it is absolutely worth the splurge.

Also, something important to note, that the ‘experience is about 3-4 hours, but if flies by and it is very fun! Just make sure that you set aside the right time.  You can go just for appetizers or dessert, which we may try in the future.

Tim and I started off by choosing the Spinach Artichoke Cheese Fondue to share.  The table must choose a the cooking style for this course and the main course, so we decided on the seasoned court bouillon, since it is complimentary and we didn’t know any different. Afterwards, we both decided that we didn’t care for that flavoring and would try one of the other three options, next time. They brought out carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, tortilla chips, and granny smith apples as options to dip into the cheese fondue.  I was skeptical about the apples, but eager to try them, and it was by far my favorite combination with the cheese fondue. Next, we each chose a small salad, Tim ordered the Caesar Salad and I ordered the California Salad with mixed greens, tomatoes, candied pecans and Gorgonzola cheese with a Raspberry Black Walnut Vinaigrette.  This small course did not disappoint, either! Forgot to take pictures for both of those courses. 😦

Now, for the main course! Tim and I each ordered our own entrées, knowing we would split them both.  We decided to go for The Classic and the Pacific Rim selections, which come with a side of veggies and potatoes. Bonus: They have a Gluten Free menu for food and drinks, so be sure to ask the waiter! We were happy with both of the selections, but there were a couple of stand-out favorites that we would definitely order the individual entrées for, next time. We really loved the honey orange duck breast, the chicken pot stickers, teriyaki-marinated sirloin-all of these stole the show, for us.

IMG_2939
Check out the spread!

I was beyond full halfway through dinner and wasn’t sure I would make it to dessert.  I did my best and became the cook for the last bits for Tim to finish off, one of the reasons I love to keep him around! 😉

For dessert, the table also has to decide on one chocolate fondue. There are some seriously great options, but went for the Chocolate S’mores option, with dippers of strawberries, banana, cheesecake, Rice Krispies Treats, marshmallows (graham cracker covered and Oreo covered), pound cake, and brownies.  Yes, they had to roll my out of the booth, and yes they had to grease the door for me to leave.

IMG_2942
And they set it on fire!

Long story short, all of you should try The Melting Pot ASAP so that we can reminisce together about all of its deliciousness.

IMG_4805
Tim decided to shave his beard off since I’ve never seen him without one. 🙂

 I am hoping to return sooner rather than later!

Happy (very belated) Anniversary, Tim!! ❤

4 thoughts on “One Year Anniversary x 2

Leave a Reply

