WIAW & Sensible Snacking Tropical Trail Mix Cookies

Who can’t get behind sensible snacking?! Its like the free pass to eat all day long, small and sensible things, of course, but there is no way that you can go wrong with it! It keeps you energized throughout the day and your metabolism is constantly working. Love it!  A big thanks goes out to Jenn from Peas & Crayons, as she is the genius behind #WIAW and this month’s theme! Go peruse her blog, and join in on the fun!! 🙂

6am-Boxing

8:30am-Breakfast + Snack #1

Yesterday, my day started with some Strawberry Greek Yogurt from Dannon’s Light & Fit.  If you’re counting your calories, I have found this yogurt to be the best flavor and texture for the least amount of calories, 80 cals, and still includes protein! For some added fiber, I added my Homemade Granola. About 30 minutes later I went from full to hungry, so then ate my banana. Perfect way to start my day, after my 6am boxing class!!

IMG_3048[1]

11am-Snack #2

Back to basics with an apple! Yumm!!

IMG_5121

1:30pm-Lunch

After my boxing class, yesterday morning, I stopped at the local bagel shop, Barry’s Bagels and had them whip me up my favorite turkey sandwich on an everything bagel.  I added, lettuce, tomato, cukes, and pickles…oh baby was it delish! With the pickle spear, on the side, I was in heaven!

IMG_5120

7pm-Dinner

More leftovers from my dad’s party means less work/cooking for me to have to do this week, which is awesome! I am finishing up my last competency exam, so I need all of the time I can get to focus on my studying!

IMG_5122

7:30pm-Snack #3

I try to eat ‘heavier’ meals, like my dinner in this case, in moderation, so I didn’t fill up on it. Needless to say, 30 minutes later I was hungry and went for one of my healthy homemade cookies that I’ve owed all of you a recipe on since late March/early April! Major fail!

IMG_5125

Buuuuuut, the good news is…the recipe is finally here!! 🙂

Healthy Homemade Tropical Trail Mix Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups wheat flour
  • 2 cups white flour
  • 1½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon coarse salt
  • ½ cup butter
  • ½ cup banana
  • ½ cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • ½ cup Greek yogurt
  • 3 Cups packed brown sugar
  • 4 large eggs (I used egg beaters)
  • 1 Tablespoon + 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 Cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 1 cup sunflower seeds
  • ½ cup unsweetened coconut
  • ½ cup raisins or currants
  • ½ cup finely chopped dried mango
  • ¼ cup finely chopped dried papaya
  • 1 cup banana chips for topping (optional – I didn’t use)

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Whisk flours, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.
  3. In a large bowl beat butter, banana, applesauce, and yogurt.
  4. Add sugar and beat well.
  5. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each.
  6. Add vanilla.  Beat until just combined.
  7. Slowly add flour mixture and beat well.
  8. Add oats, almonds, seeds, coconut, raisins, mango and papaya.
  9. Beat to combined and form dough into cookies using ¼ cup dough (I used a ½ cup and they were huge!).
  10. Put on greased or parchment lined baking sheet.  Top with banana chips.
  11. Bake 20-25 minutes.  Cool 25-30 minutes.
IMG_2885[1]
Close Up!!

IMG_2884[1]

There’s a lot of ingredients, however you can use as many or as few as you would like! Feel free to add your own twist, make your own flour, etc.  I hope to do that next time, as well as tweak it and try new flavors.  I will be sure to share with you what happens with any adjustments I make for next time!

If you make them as big as I did, that is A LOT of calories for one cookie, but seriously so filling that you can’t even scarf all of the yumminess down! So just be sure to make them smaller than I did and be conscious of calories, if you are counting! They are still healthy, since they are PACKED with protein and fiber and that is what will fill you up! 🙂

2 thoughts on “WIAW & Sensible Snacking Tropical Trail Mix Cookies

Leave a Reply

