A GRAND MIMM

Happy Marvelous In My Monday…or should I say Tuesday!

I wanted so badly to post this yesterday when it was actually Monday, but ya know…life, work, cleaning, and grad school tends to get in the way… 😉

Yesterday was such a MIMM day, because my weekend was just so Marvelous that I was ready to take Monday by the horns!!

On Friday, Tim planned a date night for us! I don’t remember the last time we had one “officially” and he wouldn’t tell me where we were going or anything! He ended up making reservations at The Common Grill located in Chelsea which is just 20 minutes out of Ann Arbor. Neither of us had ever been, but had heard good things. The food was phenomenal! We started out with the Crispy Parmesan Portobello Fries, Moscato for me, and Vanilla Stout for Tim.  We each then had a salad, I ordered the Tuscan Pear and Gorgonzola while Tim had the House Salad, before the main course. Tim went with the Mixed Grill which included: Herbed Chicken Breast, Grilled Beef Tenderloin, BBQ Shrimp wrapped in Applewood Smoked Bacon, White Cheddar Mashed Potatoes, and Grilled Asparagus.
IMG_3658 - Copy

I ordered the Roasted Pancetta Wrapped Pork Tenderloin which had Fig Balsamic Jam, Pear Chutney, Warm Corn Pudding, and Buttered French Beans. Can I just say best decision ever?! The fig jam and pear chutney made the dish!

IMG_3656

After dinner, we headed over to Chelsea Ale House where a band was playing for the night. Tim and I shared a flight of beers to taste test the ones that sounded the best! Tim did a great job with the surprise date night, I guess it’s my turn to plan one now!

beerflight

IMG_3662 IMG_3660 - Copy

Bright and early, Saturday morning, we headed to downtown Grand Rapids to enjoy the annual ArtPrize. Tim and I drove through it last year on our way to a wedding and it looked like a lot of fun, so we made sure to go this year. It was the first time either of us had been, but it was such a great day! The weather was absolutely perfect!!

We started at San Chez which is a Tapas Bistro and Cafe, for breakfast. We had been last year and it was so delicious, we knew we wanted to fuel up there before we walked all over Grand Rapids for the day. I ordered the Breakfast Quesadilla complete with eggs, bacon, onions & peppers, and Manchego & Colby cheeses. Served with harissa sour cream and habañero salsa…needless to say, it was amazing…again!

IMG_3665

After breakfast we headed out into the very crowded streets to check out all of the great art! Check it out!

IMG_3666 IMG_3667 - Copy IMG_3668 IMG_3669 IMG_3670 IMG_3673 IMG_3675 IMG_3676 IMG_3680 IMG_3681 - Copy

Seeing all of the art and creativity was just so beautiful, but my favorite part was reading or hearing about how they created some of these pieces! It just blows my mind where and how people find inspiration or ideas and execute them! I had a few favorites after seeing the processes behind the art, but my favorite piece was this one, called GRAND.

IMG_3677

Tim and I originally walked right by this piece, but I stopped because I saw a small t.v. in the corner explaining the process/thought behind this piece. The artist went into various parts of the Grand River in Grand Rapids and took sound clips of the running water. She then inserted those sounds into a computer system, where she saw that the sound waves actually reflected (no pun intended) what the river looks like. The system then carved out the sound waves into the acrylic sculpture. While in Grand Rapids recording sound from the river, she also recorded sound clips from city sounds, inserted those into the computer system and into various parts of the river sculpture so that it was incorporated into the river.  After that was complete, she buffed it until smooth. Seriously, how do you come up with something that in-depth and creative?! It baffles me! Anyway, you can watch a video here, if you would like!

IMG_3678

me and timGR

Before we left Grand Rapids for the day, we made sure to stop by one of our favorite spots, Founders Brewing Company. They have great beer and sandwiches, Red’s Rye is one of my favorites! They also recently expanded/renovated, so we had to check it out!

IMG_3683

One of Tim’s friends lives near Grand Rapids and was having people over Saturday night for his birthday, so we headed there for the rest of the evening to enjoy the rest of the gorgeous day on their deck, snacking, drinking, playing cornhole, and watching football. It was a PERFECT day!

Sunday was a rainy and yucky day to drive back, but I was able to get a few good pictures of the leaves changing! I love Fall!

IMG_3690 IMG_3691

The rest of the evening was spent working on my reading assignment for class, Tim making dinner, and watching the season premiers of Once Upon A Time and Revenge (Tim’s favorites…really though, he hates them, lol).

Seriously, it was just such a great weekend! I hope all of you had a MARVELOUS weekend and Monday! As always, thank you Katie at Healthy Diva Life for hosting the party!

Enjoy your Tuesday, loves!

Leave a Reply

